The End of the Road? Not quite….

On 28th October in York, we gave the final UK performance of Tokaido Road. What a fitting end to our touring schedule. York is the home of Tokaido Road composer Nicola LeFanu, and the Jack Lyons Concert Hall presented us with a beautiful acoustic combined with a theatrical space and a wonderful appreciative audience.

Time for some reflection now: we have, I think, succeeded in creating and touring a unique, bold and very special work. It was ambitious in its aims – I have spoken many times of the burning questions I had after playing for more than 10 years in Okeanos. Questions about what happens when we collaborate, when we put art forms together in the same space, and – especially – what happens when we bring Western and Eastern cultures together. Tokaido Road was a framework for these questions, but it was also an entertainment – a ‘world between cultures‘, a ‘window into another place’ (I am quoting from audience comments) ….I love to tell stories, I love to make worlds, I love to wonder and (as a friend pointed out the other day) I suspect I am still a bit of child at heart with a healthy dose of naivety which makes me think that projects like Tokaido Road can really happen with enough hard work and good will. And happen it did, thanks to some generous grants and to my fantastic team and their dedication, ideas, creativity, willingness and hard work.

Tokaido Road was a catalyst for change: for non-labelling (how I loathe that ‘fusion’ tag….), for new partnerships, collaborations. Tokaido Road was a project which generated more art – that’s really important to me, that art inspires art and its legacy is not merely data and reports. Tokaido Road hosted a touring photography exhibition of Wynn’s photographs in 3 galleries. Thanks to Dan Harding and the Kent team, it inspired local community art groups to respond to the idea of journeying and travel. The libretto has been published as an independent book. It has generated talks, workshops on poetry and music, study days and taught content in HE institutions in the UK and Japan. It has resulted in paintings and poems as a direct response to the opera. It has a sister-project in the travelling Kamishibai Story-telling version, brought so beautifully to life by Tomoko and Melissa. Kamishibai Tokaido Road premiered at Beth Cuenco’s magical WiseWords Festival to great acclaim and is now touring schools. Last week we linked up with the Wolverhampton Art Gallery for a Japan Family Day. Wolverhampton are currently showing an exhibition of some of the 53 Stations: they are incredibly high quality prints on loan from the Ashmolean and I had to admit to feeling rather emotional looking at such a large collection of them ‘in the flesh’. (I was admittedly a bit tired too!) As part of wider outreach and community projects, our Tokaido Road images have been projected onto a huge helium-filled balloon which hung over the night sky of Canterbury like a huge moon, whilst 300 floating candles sailed down the river in a Toro Nagashi (Wish for Peace), remembering historic events in Japan (2015 marks 70 years since Hiroshima) and throughout the world. Nicola, Nancy and I have given many talks on the opera and the ideas behind it. An invitation to speak about the opera at Kogakkan University in Ise means that Nancy and I will travel to Japan later this month. The trip to Japan for me is probably the greatest and most unexpected reward that could ever have come out of the project and I’ll be blogging from Japan.

Will I miss Tokaido Road? I will miss the music and the words which I love, I will miss the people that I see less regularly and I will miss the nurturing of ‘my’ opera. Despite the fact that I didn’t compose it, direct it or design it, I have always felt a sort of parental love and responsibility towards Tokaido Road which never waned even in the toughest times (and believe me – they were many!) But now its all grown up and ready to move on – as am I, to more projects and challenges. Its been a joy, a pleasure and one heck of a life-changing learning curve for me. It has also been an affirmation that even in the most challenging climate for the Arts, things are still possible and that is something I shall certainly carry forwards. So I won’t conclude by saying this is the ‘end of the road’ because you never know…there may one day be a chance to revive it – I hope so. For now, its the end of one phase of a journey and I’d like to thank all my team and everyone who has helped make it happen for being a part of it.

Kate Romano

Leave a Reply

